// home

Latest Posts

[Podcast] Listen to me appearing on this week’s The Swift Chancellor Report radio show


Check me and the homie, Wes Jackson talking hip-hop on his York College radio show, The Swift Chancellor Report from this past Monday. Here are some of the more choice quotes from our exchange:

Joey Badass is to me literally the epitome of what a middle-aged rap fan is looking for in a new artist…

Chance the Rapper can make music that a kid who is excited about the new Tribe record is gonna wanna listen to, but he’s also making records that are kind of art house takes on ratchet music…

Joey might be hampered by being a kid growing up in New York where they are so stuck on trying to revive this moment in time that’s like 20 years old now…

Lil Yatchy is not the SVP of hip-hop!

Learning your legacy [and] connecting to your elders is usually, almost universally, across cultures considered a good thing…

Rarely is ignorance a good jump-off point…

Let me know what you think in the comments (note: I come on in the latter half of the show, around the 33:11 minute mark, but Wes sets up our chat in the first half and it’s a good listen, with some classic, vintage Jay-Z joints in the mix too as he talks on the occasion of Hov’s birthday about why he’s the GOAT, so play it in full if you can spare the time).

Listen to The Swift Chancellor Report on: YCRadio | SoundCloud

[MP3] Jai Nitai Lotus – Life Support Feat. Sam I Am Montolla & Dj Static


Montreal-based #DK11 album alums, Jai Nitai Lotus and Sam I Am Montolla are back with a new heater, “Life Support.” Here’s the homie, Jai on the track:

This time around it features my very talented sister Sam I Am Montolla… I don’t know many singers who would be eager to sing on something as aggressive as this right here, but she wrote and laid her vocals in under an hour. I had her over for a studio session and we got into some passionate discussions about the world, art, music, and it inspired this song. Afterwards I hit up my brother, the legendary DJ Static for some cuts. When Static sent me the rough edit… I tell you I had that tough, scrunchy face while listening… dude cutting in triplets to the beat. Word!! This song has the energy to propel your 2 minute high-intensity workout 🙂

My only complaint? It’s too short! Put this joint on repeat!

[MP3] Run The Jewels – Legend Has It



From the forthcoming RTJ3 album, due January 13, featuring Danny Brown, Kamasi Washington, TV on the Radio’s Tunde Adebimpe, Trina and Joi Gilliam (yes!). Here’s the album track list:

01. Down feat. Joi Gilliam
02. Talk to Me
03. Legend Has It
04. Call Ticketron
05. Hey Kids (Bumaye) feat. Danny Brown
06. Stay Gold
07. Don’t Get Captured
08. Thieves! (Screamed the Ghost) feat. Tunde Adebimpe
09. 2100 feat. Boots
10. Panther Like a Panther (Miracle Mix) feat. Trina
11. Everybody Stay Calm
12. Oh Mama
13. Thursday in the Danger Room feat. Kamasi Washington
14. Report to the Shareholders/Kill Your Masters

[Podcast] I Got Mentioned in Episode 2 of the Polaris Podcast: Kaytranada Wins


That time I got mentioned in a #1 podcast! It’s worth listening to the entire thing (it’s less than 30 minutes total), but if you’re time crunched, go right to 12:46. Thanks Del, Lana and Aaron for the love. If you;re more of an iTunes user for for podcast listening, go HERE.

[MP3] Big Sean – Bounce Back / No More Interviews



I know I’m wild late on this. Been up on this for a while. Unfortunately, life intervened but I like these tracks so much, especially “No More Interviews”, I still decided it was worth posting in case some of y’all slept on/missed them.

Welcome to Other Music From A Different Kitchen

Going strong since August 2003, our roots run deep in the game. We made the records that your favorite rapper was inspired by, true story. Want that ole' different ish? Walk with us (and while you're at it, click the 'Like' button in that Facebook widget down there on the right to follow us on the DIFFERENT KITCHEN Facebook page and also check out the brand new DIFFERENT KITCHEN Tumblr....)

#DK11: The album, This One Goes To Eleven… OUT NOW


wordpress visitor counter