// home

Latest Posts

[MP3 + News] BADBADNOTGOOD – Confessions Pt III Feat. Colin Stetson

Toronto’s BADBADNOTGOOD just let go a loosie, a leftover track from the IV album sessions featuring Colin Stetson. Background here:

BADBADNOTGOOD is back to share a new song. “Confessions Pt III” features Colin Stetson, and starts out in a measured cadence before rising to a chaotic crescendo. The track is available to stream now, and will be available across all digital platforms 9/22. BADBADNOTGOOD is set to embark on a lengthy fall/winter tour that will take the band through North America and Europe, kicking off in Boston and wrapping up in December in Oakland. Tickets are on sale here.

BADBADNOTGOOD is also announcing a partnership with Carhartt W.I.P. who are sponsoring the upcoming tour and will release a collaborative capsule made in tandem with the band. Hear “Confessions Pt III” (feat. Colin Stetson) above, and see below for full tour routing and to read more about BADBADNOTGOOD.

Hit the jump for the tour flyer and dates:

[MP3] Alex Bent + the Emptiness Blame Me

One from the inbox! We dig:

“Blame Me” has been in the works since June 2016. It is the second single from my upcoming debut album, Vanilla Blue with a release date in the new year. Lyrically, the song continues the theme of relationships and how inner demons sometimes make it difficult to accept love and affection from others.

Riley Deacon, who helped lay down some additional production on the song, also directed the video. It’s new territory for me as I’ve stepped away slightly from the dark piano pop of my earlier releases.

Y’all dig?? Let us know here in the comments or on the ‘gram.

[MP3] Saukrates – Jays Fitted Feat. Kardinal Offishall

Guess we got the teaser a few weeks back. This is a very welcome return though! Details here:

Before hip-hop became a global entity, Saukrates established himself as a pioneer of the Canadian scene. His work behind the boards set the gold production standard for staples ranging from K-OS to Kardinal Offishall, while his work behind the mic resulted in some of the most influential records in Canadian hip-hop. Thus, it’s only right that the legend has connected with Kardinal Offishall for “Jays Fitted”, a soulful ode to the good and bad of Toronto that’s also the lead single of Saukrates’ forthcoming album, Season 2.

On the topic of “Jays Fitted”, Soxx explains, “Staying away from the cliche of NEEDING to write a hometown anthem, we actually were able to return to our roots of conscious art and collaborate again. This undertaking is anthemic in itself!” As for Kardinall Offishall, he raves “Saukrates is one of the most talented people to ever emerge out of the greater Toronto area. He is directly responsible for my success and has contributed to the success of Drake, Choclair, and so many others in the rap world…I’m honoured to contribute to my brother’s legacy once again.”

“Jays Fitted” is out now via Culvert Music. As for Season 2, the record drops in its entirety on Friday, November 17th.

[MP3 + Music Video] Always Never – Call Me Over

This is a BANGER! Check the science:

Always Never, the duo from Toronto, premiered their new song “Call Me Over” on Beats 1 Radio with Zane Lowe yesterday, before the release of their debut Call Me Over EP today. On their sound, Zane said “So Toronto, so Toronto. But Toronto is fleshing out, right? It’s getting fuller. It knows it’s controlling pop music right now, it knows it’s leading that sound. Confidence is high in that city. Always Never, “Call Me Over”, a World First, sounding amazing.” They’re unsigned and wrote and produced all of this themselves – it’s dark and sexy and undeniably catchy.

Check out the full EP also titled Call Me Over too, it’s a good one! Soundcloud | TIDAL

[MP3] Dan-e-o – League Of Legends Feat. Thrust, Maestro Fresh Wes, Moka Only, Big Kish & Eternia

Out today! Dan-e-o’s new album featuring this aptly named loaded line-up of Canadian legends of a track. Here’s the PT blurb on the album:

On November 5, 1996, Toronto-based label, Beat Factory released the seminal Canadian hip-hop compilation, Rap Essentials Volume One. Helping to further energize the already-established careers of such north-of-the-border lyrical heavyweights as Kardinal Offishall, Choclair, Ghetto Concept and Rascalz, the album is also credited for launching the career of Scarborough lyricist, Dan-e-o.

With his featured single, “Dear Hip Hop”, Dan-e-o immediately cemented himself as one of Canada’s premier MCs. A quasi-love letter to the music and culture he adores, the Scam-produced single has stood the test of time and has garnered itself “classic” status in the annals of Canadian hip-hop history.

With his fourth album, Dear Hip Hop: 20 Years Later, Dan-e-o both commemorates the two decade milestone of the release of his legendary debut and pays tribute to a long list of inspirations. “The artists I pay tribute to on this album by including them as guests helped pave the way for me to become the artist I am,” says Dan-e-o, “But they themselves have also enjoyed the last 20 years or so of invigorating hip-hop culture. So this new album is as much about celebrating Canadian hip-hop as a whole as it is about my first single. Really, I’m just a chapter in a much bigger story.”

Among the honoured guests on the album are URBNET label mate, Moka Only, “Northern Touch” legend, Thrust and the Godfather of Canadian hip-hop himself, Maestro Fresh Wes. They all appear on the posse cut and lead single, “League Of Legends”, which is produced by Scam – reuniting Dan-e-o with the producer of “Dear Hip Hop” 20 years after its release.

Dear Hip Hop: 20 Years Later is a unique combination of re-mastered gems recorded during the mid-90’s and brand new golden era-esque bangers, which include “Rap Essentials”, an ode to the compilation that started it all with alumni, Mathematik and Deuce Deuce of Concrete Mob and a symbolic tribute to J Dilla entitled “Spit” featuring the late legend’s brother, Illa J.

Track Listing
01. Dear Hip Hop
02. Constipated
03. Mental Mirage
04. Son Daze
05. Mic Surgery
06. Dear Hip Hop (The 2nd Letter) (feat. Choclair, Frankenstein & Grimace Love)
07. Incarceration
08. So Deep
09. Danish (feat. Nish Raawks)
10. Dear Hip Hop (Remix)
11. League Of Legends (feat. Thrust, Maestro Fresh Wes, Moka Only, Big Kish & Eternia)
12. Rap Essentials (feat. Mathematik & Deuce Deuce)
13. Spit (feat. Illa J)
14. 20 Years Later (feat. Fraction & Cable)

BUY / Download Dear Hip Hop: 20 Years Later Dowload Urbnet | Tidal | Spotify | iTunes/Apple

Welcome to Other Music From A Different Kitchen

Going strong since August 2003, our roots run deep in the game. We made the records that your favorite rapper was inspired by, true story. Want that ole' different ish? Walk with us (and while you're at it, click the 'Like' button in that Facebook widget down there on the right to follow us on the DIFFERENT KITCHEN Facebook page and also check out the brand new DIFFERENT KITCHEN Tumblr....)

#DK11: The album, This One Goes To Eleven… OUT NOW


wordpress visitor counter